[#20051] Copying, moving, and linking local files

Problem:
You want to add a full-text article to a reference that is already in your project by clicking Local file. However, the option you want to use (copy or move) does not appear in the list of options.

Solution:
Usually when you click Local file, you will have three options:

 

  • Copy into the Citavi project*
  • Move into the Citavi project*
  • Link the file, but don't move it

The available options can vary depending on where the documents were saved before you clicked Local file:

If the file is currently in the folder [Current Project]/CitaviFiles/RecycleBin** or [Current Project]/Citavi Attachments/RecycleBin** then:

  • Moving is possible
  • Copying is not possible
  • Linking is not possible
Reason:
In order to copy or link the file, it first needs to be moved out of the RecycleBin.

If the file is currently in the folder  [Current Project]/CitaviFiles (or a subfolder) or [Current Project]/Citavi Attachments then:
  • Moving is not possible
  • Copying is not possible
  • Linking is possible
Reason:
The file is already in the CitaviFiles folder, so you don't need to move or copy it there. It can be directly linked from the CitaviFiles folder.

 

If the file is currently in the folder CitaviFiles or Citavi Attachments or CitaviCovers (or in a subfolder) then:

  • Moving is not possible
  • Copying is possible
  • Linking is not possible

Reason:
Citavi assumes that the files are already saved in another Citavi project. Only copying is available since moving the file would result in not being able to access it in the other project. Linking the file from another Citavi project file could cause problems later on if the entire project were later moved.


*) The file will be copied or moved to the CitaviFiles (Citavi 4) or Citavi Attachments (Citavi 5) folder, which is a subfolder of the respective project folder.
**) Inside the CitaviFiles or Citavi Attachments folder you will find the RecycleBin folder. Citavi stores files here if a reference they belonged to was deleted from the project.